Dan and Eva Roos Thesis Prize

The Dan and Eva Roos Thesis Prize is given to the author of an outstanding MIT PhD thesis in the field of transportation.



Winner: Dr. Shenhao Wang, Deep Neural Networks for Choice Analysis 


Honorary Mentions:
Dr. Arthur Delarue: Optimizing School Operations 
Dr. Wilko Schwarting: Learning and Control for Interactions in Mixed Human-Robot Environments


Winner: Dr. Gabriel Kreindler 

“Essays on the Economics of Urban Transportation" (Extended Abstract | Full Thesis)


  • The dissertation should have been completed and submitted to degree lists following the completion of the last winner.

  • The dissertation is in an area related to transportation, broadly defined. It could have been submitted to any department or PhD-granting program at MIT, and could address any aspect of transportation systems (e.g., research related to any mode of transport; passenger or freight transportation; theoretical or applied problems; technological, economic, planning or policy analysis; etc.)

Application Process

Submit the following documents via email to Jinhua Zhao (

  1. A pdf copy of the complete dissertation.

  2. An extended abstract (4 to 5 pages) describing the work, its contributions, and the relevance.

  3. A letter of nomination from the dissertation supervisor supporting the submission and highlighting the importance of the research (emailed directly to Jinhua Zhao <>).

  4. Optional: A brief paper (20-25 pages, double spaced) that is based on the dissertation.

Award selection committee:

  • Cindy Barnhart

  • Alexandre Jacquillat

  • Yossi Sheffi

  • Jinhua Zhao (Chair)