Mobility and transportation are in the midst of profound transformation with an unprecedented combination of new technologies (autonomy, electrification, and AI) meeting new and evolving priorities and objectives (decarbonization, public health, and social justice). And the timeframe for these changes – decarbonization in particular – is short in a system with massive amounts of fixed, long-life assets and entrenched behaviors and cultures. 


The complexity of today’s mobility system calls for multiple levels of coordination and collaboration to overcome and shape the system’s pending challenges over both the short and long terms. The Mobility Initiative has been founded for that purpose: to convene key stakeholders in order to help drive innovation forward while providing strategic guidance to navigate today’s challenges and to build a mobility system that is sustainable, safe, clean, and accessible. 



Governing Board

Chancellor, Ford Professor of Engineering

John C Head III Dean of MIT Sloan School of Management

Dean of the MIT School of Engineering

Dean of the School of Architecture and Planning

Dean of the MIT Schwarzman College of Computing

Vice President for Open Learning at MIT

Executive Team

Faculty Director

Program Manager

Executive Director

John Moavenzadeh.jpeg

Academic Advisory Committee

Dimitris Bertsimas

Professor of Management and Operations Research, Associate Dean of Business Analytics

Moshe Ben-Akiva

Edmund K. Turner Professor in Civil Engineering

Ali Jadbabaie

JR East Professor of Engineering

David Mindell

Dibner Professor of the History of Engineering and Manufacturing, Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Georgia Perakis

William F. Pounds Professor of Management, EMBA Faculty Director, Operations Research Center Co-Director

Daniela Rus

Andrew (1956) and Erna Viterbi Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Chris Zegras

Professor of Transportation and Urban Planning

Eran Ben-Joseph

Professor of Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning

Charlie Fine

Chrysler Leaders for Global Operations Professor of Management

Patrick Jaillet

Dugald C. Jackson Professor in EECS, Co-Director of the Operations Research Center

Amedeo Odoni

T. Wilson Chair Professor Emeritus of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Sandy Pentland

Toshiba Professor of Media Arts & Science

Yossi Sheffi

Director of the MIT Center for Transportation & Logistics

Hamsa Balakrishnan

Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics

John Heywood

Professor of Mechanical Engineering

John Leonard

Samuel C. Collins Professor of Mechanical and Ocean Engineering

Asu Ozdaglar

Distinguished Professor and Department Head, EECS; Deputy Dean of Academics, Schwarzman College of Computing

Daniel Roos

Japan Steel Industry Professor, Emeritus, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Nigel Wilson

Professor Emeritus




77 Massachusetts Ave., Cambridge, MA 02139-4307